Gabriel and Michael Bell appear on History in the Making

Dragonfly Forge is excited to announce our recent appearance on the documentary series History in the Making, which recently aired in the United Kingdom on the Quest TV Channel. We are proud to be featured alongside expert craftsmen of so many diverse backgrounds.

Each episode features the recreation of three items: a tool, a weapon, a machine or an item of historical importance by expert craftsmen. It is a fascinating glimpse into historical crafts and the dedicated people continuing them in the modern world.

Viewers in the UK can watch our episode of History in the Making, Episode 4: Katana, Daguerreotype, Electric Guitar, on the Quest TV Channel website. It may also be airing in other parts of Europe, but we are unaware as to the specifics. Hopefully, the series will also air in North America in the near future.

In the meantime, one can watch the show’s trailer on the website of the content creator, Crook Horse Productions. If you watch closely enough, you can spot our sword!

2019 Class Schedule

2018 Sword-making School Class Schedule

March 2018
Monday March 26 – Friday, March 30 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

April 2018
Saturday, March 31 – Sunday, April 1 – Kajioshi Course

Saturday, April 7 – Sunday, April 8: Oregon Knife Collectors Association (OKCA) Knife Show in Eugene, Oregon

Monday, April 16 – Friday, April 22 – Advanced Katana Forging Course

May 2018
Monday, May 14 – Friday, May 18 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

Saturday, May 20 – Sunday, May 21 – Introduction to Forging Bi-metal Woodworking Tools

June 2018
Monday, June 25 – Friday, June 29 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

July 2018
Saturday, June 30 – Sunday, July 1 – Habaki Course

Monday, July 30 – Friday, August 3 – Kajioshi/Habaki Combo-Course

August 2018
Monday, August 6 – Friday, August 10 – Koshirae/Shirasaya (Scabbard & Handle) Course

Saturday, August 11 – Sunday, August 12 – Tsuka-maki (Handle-wrapping) Course

September 2018
Monday, September 3 – Friday, September 7 – Forging the Working Knife

October 2018
Monday, October 1 – Friday, October 5 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

“I have discovered the secret of sword-smithing: hard work.” – A student’s Journal during their time at Tomboyama.

Marcus Ranum, who attended our Basic Forging Course last October, shared his experience as a student at Tomboyama through a day-by-day journal of the class.

Dragonfly Forge trip report – main page

His descriptions and photos provide an excellent peek at the 5-day swordsmithing processes taught at Dragonfly Forge to transform a section of wire rope into a wakizashi, a Japanese-style short sword. He also touches upon the frustrations and triumphs of learning completely new skills. Marcus also shares the secret to swordsmithing: hard work.

Thank you Marcus for documenting your time with us and sharing it.